Skip to main content


5/20/2010 - Cumberland County Government Day

Sixty-seven eighth grade students are participating in the eighth annual Cumberland County Government Day today (Thursday, May 20). This event, which is being held in recognition of National County Government Month, is sponsored by the Cumberland County Board of Chosen Freeholders and the Cumberland County 4-H Youth Development Program.

This program will provide an opportunity for 8th grade boys and girls to learn about county government; to explore career options within Cumberland County Government; to develop leadership skills and to introduce them to the 4-H program. The students will shadow a county employee and learn about their job; what skills are required; what subject areas are stressed and the importance of working well with other people. Over 20 county departments/divisions are hosting one or more students.

Freeholder Director Louis Magazzu, who initially proposed this event, said “County Government Day provides a wonderful opportunity for youth to experience county government at work. We are excited that interest in this program has increased.”

Students representing 12 schools from throughout the county are participating in County Government Day. The students include: Tiffany Celaya, Adriana Price, Sarah Richards and Danyel Thomas from Indian Avenue School; Angela Cruz, O’Brien Hyman, Brezhauna Maceia and Latrell Williams from Cherry Street School; from Cumberland Christian School are Emily Austen, Karen Bennett, Allison Federico, Ryan Godfrey, Lindsey Jackson, Laura Jones, Zachary Jones Connor MacLeod, Heather Myers, Noreena Ogidan Courtney Saul, Bryan Shaw, Austin Valentine, Melinda Wenger and Jarad Williams.

From the ExCEL Program are Maria Alquezada, Sandra Angel, Korshae Butler, Joshua Casares, Zamarah Corley, Taliah Evans, Hassan Hameed, Doniqua Jones, Allison Kimberger, Jose Martinez and Adam McFarland. Tia Higbee, Zach Nocon and Craig Ricci from Downe Township School; Justin Barnabei, Preston Burnley, Na’Kia Cross, Zakiya Loatman and Morgan Pierce from Fairfield Township School; from Quarter Mile Lane School are Alexeus Custis and Candace Russell; Alyssa Anderson, Bianca Birney, Brianne Frederick, Megan Loew and Samantha Malastein from Hopewell Township School; Tyler Skye from Stow Creek Township School; from Woodruff School are, Khamirah Andfield, Jenna Falzone, Cassandra Fentress, Mackenzie Froelich and Taylor Magee.

Other students attending are: Yesenia Gonzalez, Claudia Hawse, Deyanira Morales and Maria Roman from Broad Street School; from Buckshutem School are Yadira Cortazar, Kiara Martin, Alessendra Melendez, Acacia Mutts and Kayla Snow and from West Avenue School are Melanie Carrion, Monique Hargrave and Jacquis Watty.

Eight students who indicated an interest in public office will shadow the Cumberland County Freeholders. These students and Freeholders are as follows: Brezhauna Maceia from Cherry Street School, Freeholder Director, Louis Magazzu; Emily Austen, Cumberland Christian School, Freeholder Deputy Director, Joseph Pepitone; Zamarah Corley, the ExCEL Program, Freeholder Rev. James Dunkins; Samantha Malestein, Hopewell Crest School, Freeholder Jane Jannarone; Craig Ricci, Downe Township School, Freeholder Thomas Sheppard; Tyler Skye, Stow Creek School, Freeholder Nelson Thompson and Taylor Magee, Woodruff School will shadow Freeholder Bill Whelan during the day and Jenna Falzone, Woodruff School, will attend the Freeholder Meeting in the evening with Freeholder Bill Whelan. These students will have an opportunity to discuss and vote on some mock resolutions in consultation with their freeholder mentor during the Youth Freeholder meeting tonight, Thursday, May 20, 7:00 PM at the Court House on Broad Street, Route 49 in Bridgeton.

Sarah Richards, Indian Avenue School will be shadowing Ken Mecouch, Deputy Clerk to the Board; Yesenia Gonzalez, Broad Street School will be with Treasurer, Gary Simmerman; Noreena Ogidan, Cumberland Christian School will be with County Counsel, Brendan Kavanagh and Taliah Evans, ExCEL Program will be with Marcella Sheppard, Chief Financial Officer.

The 4-H Youth Development Program is part of Rutgers Cooperative Extension, a unit of the New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station. 4-H educational programs are offered to all youth, grades K-13 (one year out of high school) on an age appropriate basis, without regard to race, color, national origin, gender, religion, sexual orientation or disability.

4-H is a community of young people across America learning leadership, citizenship and life skills!
For more information about County Government Day or the Cumberland 4-H Program contact the 4-H Center at 856-451-2800. Visit the Cumberland County website at and learn more about 4-H.


Download Our App.

164 W. Broad St., Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Phone: (856) 453-2125